UW-Superior faculty attend National Endowment for the Humanities conference

Two University of Wisconsin-Superior faculty members recently attended a National Endowment for the Humanities conference in Washington, D.C. This follows UW-Superior having recently received a Humanities Connections Planning award from NEH to assist with development of a new program and determine its feasibility.

Lynn Goerdt, associate professor of social work, and Jayson Iwen, associate professor of writing & library science and department chair, attended the conference held for recipients of NEH planning and implementation grants.

“I was anticipating assistance and training for project management,” said Iwen. “Since we’re about a third of the way done with our project, it was good to learn that we are in alignment with their best practices.”

The event, which had 23 institutions in attendance, included a directors meeting, training and sharing plans on how grant projects are handled.

“It was validating,” said Goerdt “At the end of this meeting, I felt like we’re doing a good job, our project is interesting to other people, we’re being thoughtful, innovative, and we’re grounding our work in the humanities.”

The proposal from UW-Superior was one of 19 out of 139 applicants selected by NEH. With the nearly $45,000 grant, research began this summer with the community to assess the development of the new program.

“We’ve had a lot of meetings with internal and external stakeholders,” said Iwen. “At this point we’re starting to design the program and conduct market analysis. We’re working on the student learning outcomes and then we’ll develop the signature features, the structure of the program and what sort of activities students will be engaging in outside of the classroom.”

The National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities Act of 1965 created the National Endowment for the Humanities as an independent federal agency. The law identified the need for a national cultural agency that would preserve America’s rich history and cultural heritage, and encourage and support scholarship and innovation in history, archaeology, philosophy, literature, and other humanities disciplines.

Northland Foundation Board announces new Trustees, executive committee

Mary Harrelson, top left, Sumair Sheikh and JoAnn Smith, bottom. BusinessNorth.com

BusinessNorth — The Northland Foundation’s Board of Trustees announced the election of three new trustees and the 2019-2019 board officers. The newly elected trustees will serve up to three, three-year terms. They are:

. Mary Harrelson, Grand Portage Reservation, a member of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe, Grand Portage Band. She is a licensed psychologist and owner of Mary Rademacher Psychological Services. She attended Southwest State University and Mankato State University, majoring in psychology and minoring in sociology/anthropology. Harrelson has also been engaged in restorative justice circles and has performed Social Security evaluations in Cook County for the past 18 years.

. Sumair Sheikh, Duluth, a career and college readiness specialist with the Duluth Public Schools – ISD #709’s Office of Education Equity. He holds a Bachelor’s degree in Biological Science, a secondary teacher certification, and a Master’s degree in Advocacy and Political Leadership. Sheikh has served as a volunteer in an array of community groups, including as a facilitator for community dialogues.

. JoAnn Smith, International Falls, is a business consultant with Koochiching Economic Development Association and Small Business Development Center. She has Bachelor’s degrees in both Mechanical Engineering and Business Administration. In addition, Smith has experience as a small business owner and holds an ASQ Certified Six Sigma Black Belt Certificate.

Board Officers for 2018-2019 are: Trent Janezich, chair – interim executive director for Workplace Solutions, Minnesota State; Jason Hollinday, vice chair – director of planning, Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa; Victoria Hagberg, secretary – geotechnical engineer, Barr Engineering; and Tom Rider, treasurer – co-owner, Lutsen Mountains Ski and Summer Resort.

Lynn Goerdt, Duluth, and Nevada Littlewolf, Virginia, have completed their ninth and final year of service on the board as of August 2. The outgoing chair, Steve Downing, Grand Rapids, will remain for a tenth year as the immediate past chair.

Skip to toolbar