Press "Enter" to skip to content

Saturday, April 21 Five-Minute Read

Nemadji Golf Course

The Nemadji Golf Course driving range in Superior is now open, from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily.

. Nemadji is starting a new mixed league on Thursday nights. League play at 5:45 p.m. is scheduled to begin May 17 for 16 consecutive weeks. Teams consist of three to six players (men, women or a combination). The cost is $15 with a cart and one free drink. Call 218.590.5035 for additional information.

. Duluth Mayor Emily Larson and city officials will hold a news conference on Monday at 10 a.m. on the Lakewalk Trail (below the Fitger’s Complex) to provide an update on the April 14-15 storm, cleanup efforts, and the city’s plans for restoration.

. Fitger’s 5K Run and Walk winners today are Nate Routhier (15:35) and Ellen Smith (18:26), and John Munich (36:10) and Ariel Moses (30:16) in the walking division. For complete results, visit

Submitted / Duluth Public Schools

Duluth Public Schools health occupation students earned over a dozen awards at the HOSA State Leadership Conference. HOSA is a unique program of leadership development, motivation and recognition for students in health occupation education programs. Award winners:

. 1st Place, Life Support Skills — Zachary McKay-Jones

. 1st Place, Interviewing Skills — Zachary McKay-Jones

. 1st Place, Health Career Photography — Kristianna Yecoshenko

. Nursing Assistant — 1st Place Erin Johnson, 2nd Nakiah Lanthier, 4th Kaitlyn Herold

. Home Health Aide — 1st Place Nakiah Lanthier, 2nd Erin Johnson, 3rd Kayla Miller, 4th Kaitlyn Herold

. 2nd Place, Medical Reserve Corps — Ian Goerdt, Kaitlyn Herold, Nakiah Lanthier, Abigail Nash

. 3rd Place, Nutrition — Erin Johnson

. 4th Place, Human Growth and Development — Erin Johnson

. 4th & 5th Place, Medical Terminology — Erin Johnson, Ian Geordt

. NAMI Service Project — Anna Lemon

. HOSA Happenings — Zarar Hayee

. Barbara James Service Award — Kaitlyn Herold

. MRC Volunteer and HOSA Honors Chapter Recognition — Emma Arntsen, Zarar Hayee, Kaitlyn Herold, Erin Johnson, Nakiah Lanthier, Ian Goerdt, Zachary McKay-Jones, Kayla Miller Abigail Nash, Kristianna Yecoshenko, Denfeld and Duluth East.

Students were honored for their accomplishments by the Duluth School Board in April.